An official website of the State of Georgia government.
Here’s how you know
State government websites often end in .gov. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a state website. Still not sure? Call 1-800-GEORGIA to verify that a website is an official website of the State of Georgia.
The https:// ensures that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.
Dear Consumer Ed: Once I’ve been given a receipt for an in-store purchase, aren’t all of the items in the bags, loose in the cart, the receipt, and even the bags themselves my property? Do I have to allow them to search my property (look through the bags) before exiting the building?
Dear Consumer Ed: I went to a department store to purchase some merchandise. The total came to $318. I gave the cashier my credit card and was told that when a credit card purchase exceeds $250, the store needs to make a copy of the credit card and keep it on file for two weeks.
Dear Consumer Ed: I just received a certified letter stating that my family and I need to move out of our rented home in 60 days. The landlord wants to sell the home, but I have a signed lease that doesn’t expire for another six months.
Dear Consumer Ed: I work for County government. I recently forwarded a work email to my personal email address so I could do some work from home.
Dear Consumer Ed: I am trying to purchase a used car from a dealer in North Georgia. There is no lien on the car, but he told me that the title was in Atlanta and that when I purchase the car, he will give me a Bill of Sale, which I can use to get my tag and registration.
Dear Consumer Ed: How long does a doctor’s office have to send you a bill? One arrived from a doctor two years after the appointment.
Dear Consumer Ed: What is the statute of limitations on credit card debt?
Dear Consumer Ed: I purchased a bottle of wine at my grocery store last week. I showed them my driver’s license, as requested, and they proceeded to scan the barcode on the back of my license into some piece of equipment. In the past, they simply looked at my ID and typed in my birthdate.
Dear Consumer Ed: I moved into an apartment and paid a pet fee since I have a small dog. When it was time to move out, there were a few carpet stains, but they were confined to one room. I was charged $200 for an overall cleaning of the apartment, plus $1,000 to replace all the carpet in the apartment. Can the apartment complex do that? When I spoke with them, they said that their carpet is five years old, and when they replace it, they replace all of it, but that I was given a break and charged a discounted rate. This doesn’t sound right to me. What do you think?
Dear Consumer Ed: I moved into an apartment and paid a pet fee since I have a small dog.