An official website of the State of Georgia government.
Here’s how you know
Local, state, and federal government websites often end in .gov. State of Georgia government websites and email systems use “georgia.gov” or “ga.gov” at the end of the address. Before sharing sensitive or personal information, make sure you’re on an official state website.
Call 1-800-GEORGIA to verify that a website is an official website of the State of Georgia.
Dear Consumer Ed: Are vehicle service warranties transferable to new owners of those vehicles?
Dear Consumer Ed: I bought an older vehicle that was advertised as having 104,000 miles on it. I later ran a vehicle history report on the car, which showed that the car had over 180,000 miles on it! The dealer claims he didn’t know the mileage was wrong. Can I get my money back?
Dear Consumer Ed: I bought a car five years ago and financed it through the dealership. I made my last payment this month. But I just learned that the dealership has closed down and I can’t get in contact with anyone who worked there. How do I go about getting my title?
Dear Consumer Ed: Are vehicle dealerships required to publicly post in their service departments their hourly repair rates?
Dear Consumer Ed: I am looking to buy a luxury car. A dealer recently gave me a quote on a used Mercedes Benz that included a $700 doc fee. That seems excessive to me. What is the highest doc fee that a dealer is allowed to charge in Georgia?
Dear Consumer Ed: I am considering purchasing a vehicle from a rental car company. To make sure the car is in good shape, I want to have it inspected by an independent mechanic. However, the salesperson at the rental car company told me that they would charge me a $250 fee for doing that.
Dear Consumer Ed: I purchased a brand new car in 2018. In cleaning out my car I found a rental agreement indicating that my car was used as a rental car for the dealership. When I purchased the car it had about 400 miles on it.
Dear Consumer Ed: If a car dealer is selling a car with a rebate, are they allowed to charge sales tax on the pre-rebate price?
Dear Consumer Ed: I recently purchased a car from a “buy here, pay here” dealer. The dealership has “as is” on all its vehicles, but before I bought the car the salesperson told me it was in good condition and ran perfectly. A few days after I bought the car the vehicle started giving me problems. When I called the dealership to complain, they told me to bring it in so they could fix it. After two repair attempts, I noticed there was smoke coming from the engine, which had never happened before and makes me think they damaged something inside the motor. Can I sue the dealership for consumer fraud and damaging my vehicle?
Dear Consumer Ed: I am considering purchasing a car that is marked as a manufacturer’s buyback vehicle. Will I run across any issues registering the car in the state of Georgia? Also is there anything from a legal rights (lemon law) note that I should consider before the purchase?