Consumer Ed | Georgia Department of Law Consumer Protection Division

Ask Consumer Ed

We answer consumer questions in Georgia. Have a question we haven't answered? Ask us now!

Consumer Ed

Latest Articles

Can businesses refuse to accept cash payments?

Dear Consumer Ed:  Is it legal in Georgia for a business to refuse cash for payment of goods or services? Can businesses legally force consumers to pay with a debit or credit card?

What kind of licensing is a solar panel installer required to have?

Dear Consumer Ed:  I’m having solar panels installed on my home.  What kind of licensing is the installer required to have?

How can I found out if a vehicle I'm buying was salvaged?

Dear Consumer Ed:  How can I find out if the vehicle that I am interested in purchasing from a dealership is a salvaged vehicle?

Can medical provider bill me 4 years after charges were incurred?

Dear Consumer Ed:  A medical provider recently sent me a statement for $14,850.00, with charges dating from four to six years ago. The provider never submitted the bills to my insurance company as it had done in the past. The charges are far outside my insurance company’s contracted time (60 days) for consideration. Now the medical provider is threatening to send my account to a collection agency. Am I legally required to pay the full amount of these medical costs under these circumstances?

Get our Newsletter

Sign up to receive our bi-weekly "Ask Consumer Ed" articles.