Latest News

Buying and registering a manufacturer's buyback vehicle

January 9, 2019

Dear Consumer Ed:  I am considering purchasing a car that is marked as a manufacturer’s buyback vehicle. Will I run across any issues registering the car in the state of Georgia? Also is there anything from a legal rights (lemon law) note that I should consider before the purchase?

Is loan offer a scam?

December 14, 2018

Dear Consumer Ed:  This supposed lending club is offering to loan me $5,000, but they say that since my credit isn’t great, they need to verify my intention to pay by a means I find suspicious. They say they will pay off my credit card balance of $850.00, then I am supposed to go to a nearby store and make a purchase in the same amount. After I do that they say they will lend me the loan money by depositing the $5,000 into my checking account. This makes no sense to me, but if it is a scam, how would they benefit?  I have already given them my credit card information. What do you advise?

Is microblading safe and legal?

November 27, 2018

Dear Consumer Ed:  I am seeing advertisements for microblading. I’d love to have thicker-looking brows, but I am wondering if this procedure is legal and safe?

Dealer fee not included in advertised price of car

October 30, 2018

Dear Consumer Ed:  I live in Georgia and am looking to buy a new car. I found a car that was advertised on a popular vehicle sales website for $17,900. When I went to the dealership, the salesperson wanted to charge me an additional $599 dealer fee on top of the advertised price. Can they do that?

Do I have to allow stores to search my bags?

October 15, 2018

Dear Consumer Ed:  Once I’ve been given a receipt for an in-store purchase, aren’t all of the items in the bags, loose in the cart, the receipt, and even the bags themselves my property? Do I have to allow them to search my property (look through the bags) before exiting the building? If I refuse, are they allowed to detain me?

Is store allowed to make and keep a copy of my credit card?

September 28, 2018

Dear Consumer Ed:  I went to a department store to purchase some merchandise. The total came to $318. I gave the cashier my credit card and was told that when a credit card purchase exceeds $250, the store needs to make a copy of the credit card and keep it on file for two weeks. I refused to allow them to copy my card and asked to speak to a manager about the reason for needing to copy my card. The manager simply told me that it was the store policy. To avoid having them keep a copy of my card, I split the purchase into two separate transactions. But I’m wondering, is it legal for a store to have such a policy?

Can landlord break lease with tenant to sell the home?

August 30, 2018

Dear Consumer Ed:  I just received a certified letter stating that my family and I need to move out of our rented home in 60 days. The landlord wants to sell the home, but I have a signed lease that doesn’t expire for another six months. We have been good tenants the whole time we’ve been here: quiet, pay rent on time, have never had a problem. Is the landlord allowed to force us to leave before our lease is up?

Can car dealer sell vehicle without title?

August 20, 2018

Dear Consumer Ed:  I am trying to purchase a used car from a dealer in North Georgia. There is no lien on the car, but he told me that the title was in Atlanta and that when I purchase the car, he will give me a Bill of Sale, which I can use to get my tag and registration. Without the title, how can this sale be legal?

Pages